Dealing with the Homesickness

Let’s face it–there’s only so many times that I can eat 宫爆鸡丁(or as Panda Express and us 洋鬼子,or foreign devils, like to call Kungpao Chicken) before wanting to fly to America for a damn cheeseburger. The Chinese have so many “Best Hamburger in China” hostels and 老外-owned restaurants, but they STILL have that Chinese flavor. Ugh. Seeing as how it’s not possible to fly back home to America, or to have Carl’s Jr. send over a weekly care package of Six-Dollar Burgers, we have taken to bringing America to our stomachs.

The most recent addition to the battle against our nostalgia was a collaboration between me and Bob–I did the cooking, and Bob did the taste-testing.
Onion Rings

These were at least as delicious as they looked. It also amazes me the profit margin on onion rings. Those towers of onion rings at Red Robin are somewhere between $8-$11USD if I remember correctly, and it is less than half an onion, with some batter and oil. In fact, we were talking about opening up a restaurant that catered to every type of American food for the homesick. Texas BBQ, onion rings, GOOD hamburgers and steaks, hot dogs, and mint chocolate ice cream.

Ah, the musings of the drunk.

4 Responses to “Dealing with the Homesickness”

  1. Those onion rings look fantastic- were they beer battered in panko?

    • foundmeinchina Says:

      Nah, they don’t have such cutting-edge inventions like Panko over here. Not unless you go to the import section of the store, I’d assume. This is just flour, beer, a bit of butter, curry powder, chili powder, cumin, and what the Chinese call “delicious seasoning”.

  2. Zhou lao shi Says:

    好主要!在中国开个美国饭店,我会是你的第一个顾客。

  3. Hi Justin,
    Thanks for keeping me in the loop on your travels. I love onion ringS. GIven that I am continually looking for new business opportunities, and that onion rings seem to have a high markup wherever they are going for $8-10 per ounce or something like that, lets do it.

    Since you are mucking around with different businesses, we should have cut a deal where you could have been the Venture Tech Corp. China marketing department. I’ve never done business in China. I’ve done work in Singapore and very early in my career in Taiwan. So it would be great. Go to my website if you want to get an idea of what I have done or can do. The site noted above is http://www.venturetechcorp.com.

    Just in case you run into something, one of the biggest projects I have going is teaching comprehensive business analysis to private equity analysts. These are the guysthat do analyses on M&A deals. I am also working on a prospective medical project in Macedonia and beginning discussion on a project in South Africa. All the rest of the things I am doing are domestic.

    Had I known early enough that you were in China, I would have asked you to look for illustrated editions of Don Quixote. I collect old editions and some years ago migrated to illustrated eidtions because of the diversity of illustrations. If you wind up in antique or aqny kind of book store, see if they have any editions. I will reimburse you for your costs.

    Your father sent me some of your early blogs. They are great and very entertaining. You write exceptionally well so do not be put off by my lack of writing ability. I can just about get my thoughts out. Your abilityto describe scenes and environments is an ability very few people have. Perhaps you might go into the travel writing business.

    Hopefully, there will be a chance to see you during or after your worldly travels. This note is getting too long and I don’t want to bore you.

    Sorry about not getting linked to you on Facebook. Your sister was going to show me how (a few weeks ago) but left without training me. I am on LinkedIn. If you want to get on, let me know. It is a business connection site.

    On a hot day in D.C., take care and keep the blogs coming. By the way, the links do not work. I caught this blog by going into your archives.

    Ralphf

Leave a Reply

