Breaking the Fast, with photos!

Maybe I’m just hungry. It’s the middle of finals week, the last of my undergraduate career. Same as everybody else, given the multitude of similar facebook status updates. It’s also the first time since November that I have so much as typed in ‘www.wordpress.com’ into my browser to log into this blog. But I will resurrect it yet.

Much past the $75 I spent to reserve my own URL, the plans to incorporate this blog into my own website never even got out of the soil, much less off the ground. It’s on the Summer To Do List, along with so many other dreams, hopes, desires. Completion of my goals seems to have the success rate of the NAVY SEaL program. Addressing that issue is first on the Summer To Do List. Wish me luck.

This thesis on China’s counterculture and its potential to act as a force for social change is going to be the death of me. Or should I say it is the things I do to avoid working on this thesis that will bury me.

Things like this photo dump–a collection of shots that have caught my eye too many times to ignore. Most of them come from trips that were post-worthy, that I just never got around to doing. To be honest, I still owe this blog the photos and write up from my trip to Yunnan, which was over a year ago. Thankfully it was memorable enough that between the good times and the gigabytes of photos I took recording said good times, I will be able to relate the highlights of the trip in all its detail.

Not much rhyme or reason to these photos, no real theme tying them together, except that I took them, and I like them, and I think you will, too. The food, unless otherwise mentioned, was made by me too; another dangerous hobby I have.

Enjoy, and welcome back to foundmeinchina.

IMG_2916
Bodhisattva. Summer Palace, Beijing, China.

IMG_0524
Moules Marinere

IMG_4215
South Beach, Florida

IMG_4194

IMG_4193

Claudia Getty 04
Claudia when not consuming.

Claudia Getty 02
Claudia when consuming.

IMG_2051
Swallow Hisscock @ UCR’s Dragball 2011

IMG_1788
UCR’s Dragball 2011

IMG_1540
UCR’s Dragball 2011

IMG_0640
Another Temple of Heaven shot.

IMG_0601
My beautiful sister outside the north gate of the Forbidden City, comfortable in the freezing weather because it’s still nicer than Chicago.

IMG_0568
Kim tapping into her Chinese side

IMG_9953
One of those claw vending machines at a rest stop on the I-5N.

IMG_9864
How the world looked fifteen minutes after I had my wisdom teeth pulled.

IMG_9534
Duck ready to be roasted. Beijing.

IMG_7946-Edit
Street vendor. Lijiang, Yunnan.

Beijing street photography:

IMG_9655

IMG_9608

IMG_9604

Leave a Reply

